Ulaan Markhor
Spiral Horns, Black Onions, et al.
LP / MP3
« SAB 068 · SAB 070 »


Ulaan Markhor is the latest solo moniker for Californian Steven R. Smith's studio explorations. Spiral Horns, Black Onions, et al. fuses recent itinerant work under aliases Ulaan Khol (blistering basement psychedelia) and Ulaan Passerine (moody & meditative zones) and unveils a distinctly American version of kosmische, with heavy Levon Helm or Clyde Stubblefield -indebted rhythm & groove replacing motorik pulses. Fluid synth, bass, organ & searing guitar textures (all played by Smith) augment the beats. The result is something akin to The Meters meets Amon Düül II. An exciting new chapter in the ever-evolving canon of SRS.

Track list

01. In the Ravine
02. The Nocturnal in Daylight
03. Black Onions
04. Heroine of the Goat Bells
05. Last Leaf of the Season
06. This Cabled Distance
07. No Train Like Water
08. Butterfly Tar
09. Rolling